Rome Wasn’t Built In a Day

On Friday, Margaux, Roni, and I walked around, went to the David, and went to the Uffizi and then left for Rome that evening. So we went on a 7:00PM train to Rome, and when we were about 15 minutes away from the Roma Termini (that’s the name of the station) track, we couldn’t pull in any further because the track was blocked. So we ended up sitting there for an additional 2.5 hours….I was so pissed. Italy…. It’s times like these where I miss America because I feel like this would never fly in America. Italians are too laid back to make a scene about this. It was so annoying because we were going to my friend Dylan Sklare’s (my friend on Hello Dolly! that I went to visit in the hospital) apartment to be with him and his friends for their last night abroad in Rome, so we ended up getting there super late. But the train was actually kind of funny. There was this Italian 17 year old sitting next to us that we were using my translate app to ask him what was going on and we found out he was on the minor league Florence football team. His name was Roberto Tomasiello. We told him we were going to follow his career. Everyone on the train was getting so antsy!

So finally we get to Sklare’s apartment and we got to see all the boys and hang out with them. Roni wasn’t feeling well, so she stayed home, but we all went out to Gilda which was really fun. Roni, Margaux, and I stayed at Sklare’s apartment on Friday night and so did all the other boys because their lease ended on Friday so they needed somewhere to stay for the night. On Saturday, all the boys left, except for Sklare because his flight back to America was on Sunday. So we had a little bit of a problem. Sklare’s lease was over on Saturday, so we had to get out because we couldn’t stay there Saturday night. So he got a hotel room at this hotel outside of the old city of Rome, so he took our bags to his hotel with all his stuff because we had a reservation at the Vatican for 11:30AM. So I was the Roman tour guide for the day. Getting to the Vatican was a bit of a struggle. It was just SOOOO hot that we were dying and sweating and running to get there and then once inside the Vatican, it was so packed which made it even hotter. We went through the Vatican and then ended in the Sistine Chapel which was so exciting. I was so pumped to see it. So we got into the Sistine Chapel, and to be honest, I was a little disappointed. I thought that the chapel would be WAY bigger than it was in real life, and I thought that the painted ceiling was much brighter and detailed than it actually was. I mean, it was still so cool to actually be standing there and see it, but I was a little underwhelmed to be completely honest. After we were done at the Vatican, we walked by the Castel Sant’Angelo and the Spanish steps. At the Spanish steps, we filled up our water bottles in the fountain at the bottom of the steps. It was such a hot day. We were sweating and so thirsty. We had to walk up the Spanish steps to get to the Borghese Gardens. The gardens were BEAUTIFUL! There were cyprus trees, Mediterranean pine trees, and palm trees. We laid in the grass for about an hour and took a little break from the heat and walking around. After the gardens, we walked by the capitol building, where the tomb of the unknown soldier is, and then walked by the Roman Forum, and then ended at the Coliseum. We were hungry, so we went to get some dinner by the Coliseum at this little cafe where we checked in and got some wifi.

At dinner, we heard from Sklare and he said that he would come meet up with us in Rome and walk around for a little. We accompanied him to dinner at this really cool restaurant in Trastevere, his neighborhood. The restaurant was called Spirito di Vino. It is built inside the oldest synagogue in Rome, older than the coliseum. So cool. After dinner, we walked around Trastevere for a little, and then walked to the metro station to go back to the hotel. We all snuck into the hotel room and stayed the night because we had no where else to stay. Ahhhh the adventures you have when you’re young. So Margaux’s flight was at 6:00AM, so she had to leave at 4:00AM for the airport, and we didn’t even get back to the hotel until 1:30AM, so we just stayed up until she got a cab for the airport. It was so funny because Margaux brought such a tiny bag and Ryan Air, which is the airline she was flying is super strict about the size of your ONE bag you’re allowed to carry on, so she wore all her clothes. She looked like a gypsy hahah because she was wearing jeans with a maxi skirt over it and all her other clothes. So funny. So then Roni, Sklare, and I fell asleep for a couple of hours while watching The Departed, and then had to wake up early because Sklare had to go to the airport for his flight back to America. So Roni and I went to the Roma Termini train station while Sklare went to the airport. When Roni and I got to the train station, we split. I went back to Florence and she got a shuttle to the airport.

The train was quick. I was exhausted when I got back to Florence because of how little sleep I had gotten the past two nights.

Margaux and I on the train to Rome

Margaux and I on the train to Rome

Sklare and his one arm because his arm is in a sling

Sklare and his one arm because his arm is in a sling

Coop and I

Coop and I

Sklare, Margaux, and Christian

Sklare, Margaux, and Christian

Matt and I and their apartment decoration cat friend, Felix. They threw Felix into the river as a symbolic sacrifice hahaha

Matt and I and their apartment decoration cat friend, Felix. They threw Felix into the river as a symbolic sacrifice hahaha

Sklare and his street. So sad that this is the end!

Sklare and his street. So sad that this is the end!

View of the Vatican

View of the Vatican

The walk through the vatican. It was SO packed.

The walk through the vatican. It was SO packed.

IMG_7837

IMG_7848

IMG_7850

The Sistine Chapel. You're not allowed to take photos, so I had to sneak these with my iPhone.

The Sistine Chapel. You’re not allowed to take photos, so I had to sneak these with my iPhone.

iPhone pics...not as good quality

iPhone pics…not as good quality

IMG_4261

The most famous painting in the Sistine Chapel

The most famous painting in the Sistine Chapel

IMG_4264

The Vatican dome through the view of a window.

The Vatican dome through the view of a window.

The stairs on the way down were so intense

The stairs on the way down were so intense

Very Guggenheim-esque stairs/ramp

Very Guggenheim-esque stairs/ramp

The court building

The court building

The Vatican from a distance

The Vatican from a distance

Roni and I at the Spanish steps

Roni and I at the Spanish steps

I had already been to the Spanish steps, but it is so much prettier in the spring!

I had already been to the Spanish steps, but it is so much prettier in the spring!

The fountain at the bottom of the Spanish steps that everyone filled their water bottles with and cooled off at.

The fountain at the bottom of the Spanish steps that everyone filled their water bottles with and cooled off at.

View of Roma from up by the Borghese Gardens

View of Roma from up by the Borghese Gardens

When we walked up to the Borghese Gardens, there was a Gelato fair going on. We didn't get anything because you had to buy a ticket and it was a whole process blah blah blah

When we walked up to the Borghese Gardens, there was a Gelato fair going on. We didn’t get anything because you had to buy a ticket and it was a whole process blah blah blah

But there was an elephant sculpture that I just HAD to take a photo with!

But there was an elephant sculpture that I just HAD to take a photo with!

The Borghese Gardens! So pretty!

The Borghese Gardens! So pretty!

Trevi Fountain

Trevi Fountain

Margaux and I at the Trevi Fountain

Margaux and I at the Trevi Fountain

Making a wish!

Making a wish!

My favorite Elephant obelisk

My favorite Elephant obelisk

The capitol building. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

The capitol building. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

This is my favorite street in Rome. And when you turn to the left, you see all the Mediterranean Pine Trees lined along the street, with the Coliseum at the end. I love it.

This is my favorite street in Rome. And when you turn to the right, you see all the Mediterranean Pine Trees lined along the street, with the Coliseum at the end. I love it.

Selfies at the Ancient Forum. This is my Ancient Roman face.

Selfies at the Roman Forum. This is my Ancient Roman face.

Ancient Forum

Roman Forum

The Coliseum!

The Coliseum!

The arch next to the coliseum

The arch next to the coliseum

IMG_7914

Coliseum at night

The coliseum at night

Sklare, Margaux the gypsy,  and Roni. Sklare is repping the Hello Dolly! sticker on his computer.

Sklare, Margaux the gypsy, and Roni. Sklare is repping the Hello Dolly! sticker on his computer.

Leave a Reply

