Dolly the Tour Guide

Wow. I am exhausted. So let me run you through my past week. Last Sunday, after I got back from Paris, I met up with my friend Jon Miller from Indiana who was visiting Florence from London. He was done with his program and was traveling with a friend. So I met up with him and his friend and walked around Florence with them for a couple hours. Then I had to leave them and had to go to the train station to meet my good friend from home, Lexi Sorbara (visiting from Barcelona) and her friend from Barcelona, Lily. So I walked them back to my apartment, and then we did a nice little walking tour of Florence. On Monday and Tuesday I showed them around some more and we went to see the David on Tuesday. We also went to the Pharmacy of Santa Maria Novella which is one of the oldest pharmacies in the world. The Queen of England buys her perfume from this perfumery. It was my first time going, so it was cool to see!

My friend from school, Roni (who I stayed with in Prague), was supposed to come to Florence on Tuesday evening, but she didn’t end up coming until Thursday night because her purse was stolen off the security conveyer belt at the Prague airport. She had nothing. It’s so terrible. They stole her Czech phone, her iPhone, her wallet with her money, tram passes, credit cards, etc, and her watch. So awful. So Tuesday night was Notte Bianca. May 1st is labor day, so every April 30th (Tuesday night), Florence has this giant celebration called Notte Bianca (White Night) where everything, all the restaurants, museums, etc, are open all night, and everyone is just celebrating in the streets. So Lexi got to celebrate with me and all my friends since she was here on Tuesday night!

On Wednesday, my other friend Margaux (the friend I was with in Paris) came to visit! So Lexi, Lily and I went to meet Margaux at the train station and we went to lunch with two of my roommates, Lane, and Amanda. It was so fun that Margaux and Lexi were here in Florence at the same time. So we walked around all day and then Lexi and Lily left for the airport.

On Thursday, Margaux and I went to the Palatine Gallery at the Pitti Palace and did some more touristy things, and then I went to meet Roni at the train station and brought her back to my apartment. Margaux, Lane, Katie, Amanda, and I all went out to dinner at Il Fagioli that night, and Roni met up with her camp friends for dinner. It’s been great having visitors, but it’s so tiring!

Pear Ravioli from 4 Leoni, where Lexi, her friend Lily, and I went out to dinner.

Pear Ravioli from 4 Leoni, where Lexi, her friend Lily, and I went out to dinner.

Lexi and I at 4 Leoni

Lexi and I at 4 Leoni

Ran into this English Bulldog named Edward in Florence. It made me miss Dash, my English Bulldog!

Ran into this English Bulldog named Edward in Florence. It made me miss Dash, my English Bulldog!

What a cutie

What a cutie

Me and Lexi in front of the Duomo!

Me and Lexi in front of the Duomo!

At the perfumery

At the perfumery

IMG_4177

IMG_4178

A huge flower candle at the perfumery that smelled so good

A huge flower candle at the perfumery that smelled so good

Ceiling at the perfumery

Ceiling at the perfumery

Lexi and I at Piazza Michelangelo

Lexi and I at Piazza Michelangelo

Kisses for Florence!

Kisses for Florence!

Went back to see the David

Went back to see the David

Me and David

Me and David

Notte Bianca! The city was packed.

Notte Bianca! The city was packed.

So many people out by the Duomo.

So many people out by the Duomo.

Crazy floats by Santa Croce church

Crazy floats by Santa Croce church

Sari, Merel, me and Lane

Sari, Merel, me and Lane

Lane, Sari, me, and Lexi

Lane, Sari, me, and Lexi

Margaux, me, and Lexi in front of the door of my apartment on my street.

Margaux, me, and Lexi in front of the door of my apartment on my street.

On my street

On my street

A woman at Gusta Pizza also had an eye ball ring

A woman at Gusta Pizza also had an eye ball ring

Heart shaped pizza

Heart shaped pizza

Margaux and I wrote this for Gusta Pizza!

Margaux and I wrote this for Gusta Pizza!

Our note inside the table

Our note inside the table

Florence is so pretty!

Florence is so pretty!

Michelangelo's tomb

Michelangelo’s tomb inside Santa Croce Church

Galileo's tomb

Galileo’s tomb

Machiavelli's tomb

Machiavelli’s tomb

Ceiling right outside of Santa Croce church. Love the blue and the shells.

Ceiling right outside of Santa Croce church. Love the blue and the shells.

Margaux and I walked by the Synagogue in Florence. I have to make it inside one of these days!

Margaux and I walked by the Synagogue in Florence. I have to make it inside one of these days!

Dinner at Il Fagioli. My parents' friend, Alberto from Milan suggested this place. It was delish!

Dinner at Il Fagioli. My parents’ friend, Alberto from Milan suggested this place. It was delish!

Ceiling in Uffizi

Ceiling in Uffizi

Leave a Reply

