My Favorite Week In Florence Thus Far

So this was definitely my favorite week in Florence. I was pretty productive, and just had a great time with great weather. So here’s a run down of the week.

On Monday, I met up with my mom’s past employee, Linda Sweeney. She was in Florence with her husband and son. Before I met up with Linda, I went to the Salvador Dali art exhibit. It was pretty cool. There were tons of sketches and sculptures. There wasn’t as much art as I expected though. It was a pretty small exhibit. I met up with Linda and her family after the art exhibit. I took them through the leather market and to the Mercato Centrale and then said goodbye. I had some time to kill before my class, so I went to the Leather School and looked around and then went to Santa Croce church. The church has wood ceilings which is really cool and Michelangelo is buried there. Then I had to go to class.

After class, I met up with Katie and we spent the afternoon at the Boboli Gardens at Pitti Palace. The gardens were beautiful! They are a completely evergreen gardens so it’s in bloom all year long. The weather has been fantastic this week. High 70’s, almost 80’s. We laid out all afternoon. Monday night, I met up with Jenna Cohen, Jenny Graff, Jenny’s two friends and Molly Weber (all AEPhi friends) for dinner at Il Profetta because Molly was visiting from Sevilla. It was great to see Molly! The food was absolutely delicious at the restaurant. Monday night, everyone went out to Yab and I ran into Eric Strumwasser, a friend from school.

On Tuesday, I woke up and went on a hike up to Piazza Michelangelo. It was so nice to just be by myself and take in Florence. I love this city so much and have appreciated it so much more in this weather. Then I had class and then I went back to the Boboli Gardens with Lane and Hillary Weisel. I studied for my Italian quiz and laid out. On Tuesday night, we had a mandatory dinner for my food and wine class that was in place of class that afternoon. We went to the restaurant Boccadama in Piazza Santa Croce. To be honest, the food was worse than what I was expecting. After dinner, I went to Jenna Mizzi’s apartment to meet up with Lena Baker and Kelsey Marks, our friends on Morale (our IUDM committee), who were visiting from Sevilla. They came back home with me.

On Wednesday morning, I took Lena and Kelsey through the leather market, to Mercato Centrale and then we sat on the steps of the duomo. We went up to La Rinascente, the department store, to get the good view of the duomo. Then I took them to meet up with Mizzi because I had class. I had Italian and then TV broadcasting. After class, I met back up with Lena and Kelsey and we went to meet up with Kelsey’s friends in her sorority, and Jess Rosen, who is also on morale with us, and Hillary Weisel and picked up sandwiches at Antico Vinaio (the best sandwich place) to bring up to Piazza Michelangelo to watch the sunset. It was so beautiful, and again I fell in love with this city and the view. After Michelangelo, Lena, Kelsey, and I just hung out at my apartment and they left early this morning (Thursday).

Today me and my friends are leaving for the Amalfi Coast which I am SO excited for. It’s going to be so gorgeous. We are going through Bus2Alps, the travel company. We leave tonight and take a bus. Like I said, this was definitely my favorite week in Flo so far! I love it here!

Dali exhibit. Melting clock statues.

Dali exhibit. Melting clock statues.

IMG_3802

Dali's ode to the Jews during WWII

Dali’s ode to the Jews during WWII

IMG_3804

Little statues

Little statues

Dali furniture.

Dali furniture

The inside of the building where the exhibit was.

The inside of the building where the exhibit was

IMG_3809

IMG_3813

IMG_3814

Linda and I in front of the duomo.

Linda and I in front of the duomo

The courtyard at the leather school

The courtyard at the leather school

Leather goods.

Leather goods

Students at the leather school.

Students at the leather school

Santa Croce church

Santa Croce church

IMG_7575

The wooden ceiling

The wooden ceiling

Michelangelo's tomb

Michelangelo’s tomb

IMG_7584

Santa Croce church from the outside.

Santa Croce church from the outside

Boboli Gardens

Boboli Gardens

IMG_3826

IMG_3827

The Pitti Palace

The Pitti Palace

IMG_3831

Molly comes to Florence!

Molly comes to Florence!

Jenny Graff and I at Il Profetta.

Jenny Graff and I at Il Profetta

The "John Travolta" pasta at Il Profetta. So good.

The “John Travolta” pasta at Il Profetta. So good.

Molly and Dolly!

Molly and Dolly!

My roommates friends, Rachel Broder and Karly Stillman came to visit. Rachel and Karly are good friends with my cousin Jordan Aronovitz.

My roommates friends, Rachel Broder and Karly Stillman came to visit. Rachel and Karly are good friends with my cousin Jordan Aronovitz.

Rachel Heimberg, me, and Lane at Yab.

Rachel Heimberg, me, and Lane at Yab

The hike up to Piazza Michelangelo.

The hike up to Piazza Michelangelo

The view from the top.

The view from the top

Back to the Boboli Gardens! This time with Lane.

Back to the Boboli Gardens! This time with Lane.

Amanda Haas, me, and Stacy Chemtob at the food and wine class dinner.

Amanda Haas, me, and Stacy Chemtob at the food and wine class dinner.

Kelsey, me, Lena, and Jenna.

Kelsey, me, Lena, and Jenna

We spelled out "OMAM." OMAM means "Once Morale Always Morale."

We spelled out “OMAM.” OMAM means “Once Morale Always Morale.”

Lena was so excited to get a porchetta sandwich from Nerbone in the market.

Lena was so excited to get a porchetta sandwich from Nerbone in the market.

This is the best sandwich place in Florence without a doubt.

This is the best sandwich place in Florence without a doubt.

Prepare yourself for some beautiful scenic photos of Florence.

Prepare yourself for some beautiful scenic photos of Florence.

DSC_1024

DSC_1026

DSC_1027

Jess, Lena, Kelsey, and I. We're all on Morale together.

Jess, Lena, Kelsey, and I. We’re all on Morale together.

Lena and I. Friends since 1992.

Lena and I. Friends since 1992.

The duomo in the sunset. So beautiful.

The duomo in the sunset. So beautiful.

Loving our Antico Vinaio sandwiches.

Loving our Antico Vinaio sandwiches

The group watching the sunset at Piazzale Michelangelo.

The group watching the sunset at Piazzale Michelangelo

This is basically Florence in a nutshell...

This is basically Florence in a nutshell…

DSC_1071

Florence at nighttime. This could be a postcard.

Florence at nighttime. This could be a postcard.

DSC_1096

Hillary Wiesel and I

Hillary Wiesel and I

Indiana group shot

Indiana group shot

All of us.

All of us

Kelsey, Lena, and I on the Ponte Vecchio at night.

Kelsey, Lena, and I on the Ponte Vecchio at night.

Leave a Reply

