Recap of Last Week and I’m 21!!!! And Italian Soccer Match

We went back to school this week from spring break and we got our midterms back. Well I only got 3 out of 4 back so far, but so far so good! What a relief.

About two weeks ago my phone had been acting up and then I realized that my phone wasn’t sending iMessages from my phone number and they were only being sent from my Apple ID. I couldn’t receive iMessages that were sent my phone number either, so I was very frustrated that I couldn’t communicate via iMessage. Oh and to make matters worse, my Viber app wasn’t working anymore so I deleted it and reinstalled it, but I couldn’t reinstall it without having an activation code that was sent to your phone via SMS which of course I don’t have on my iPhone. The two of these things combined really stressed me out. So on Tuesday after my class, Sari met up with me and we went on a big adventure to the mall which was a 40 minute drive away. The bus there was easy. Really cheap, easy, but long. We got out of the bus and we were shocked by this mall. It was like real life civilization. So we went to the Apple store, had our genius bar appointments, and then left. It was 8:10PM. We went outside to wait for the bus and the bus never came…we waited for 45 minutes and nothing. So at this point we’re freaking out thinking we’re never getting home and we call our program director, Milva, and she told us that there should have been a bus, but there never was and we literally waited outside for 45 minutes. So we had to call a cab. We waited forever for a cab and finally we got home at around 11:00PM. The cab was so expensive. I was so angry and so confused about how the bus never came. After coming up with a solution to fix my phone, and talking to my dad, the phone was back to normal the next morning.

Wednesday night we had aperitif through Wells at the Savoy Hotel near Piazza Reupubblica. Aperitif is when you go and have drinks and appetizers with friends. Wells set it up for us so Lane and I met up with my friends Emily Clark, Jenna Mizzi, and Holly and we met the rest of the program at Savoy. It was a nice little gathering.

Thursday was just a chill day. Did nothing too exciting during the day. At night though, my friends and I celebrated my 21st birthday! So Sari, Merel and Zorn all came over to hang out with me and Lane before going out and then Stephanie Miller came over a little later too. When Steph came in, she said that she had a surprise for me, and in walked Jenny Siegel (one of my best friends that we were in Dublin with and is studying in Copenhagen). She came and surprised me for my birthday! I was sooo surprised. I had no idea! It was such a great surprise. So we all went out together that night which was fun.

Friday, the day of my actual birthday, Lane and I went to go get lunch at Antico Vinaio and we just walked around for a little bit. Jenny then came over and we hung out. That night, Jenny, Sari, Lane, and my two other roommates Amanda and Rachel went out to dinner to Trattoria Anita. They have really cheap and good pasta. My teacher told me about it. It was yummy! Then that night Jenny, Steph Miller, Lane, Sari and I went out to Kikuya and Babylon. I ran into Pauline Dora’s son, Lowell (the son of my boss at the store that I work at in New Canaan, Design Solutions) at Babylon which was funny. He is traveling around Europe for a semester.

On Saturday, I met up with Emily Clark, Holly, and Matt Andre (Giggles) and his roommate Coop, who I met in Vienna and Budapest. They came to Florence for the weekend. Matt wasn’t feeling well so he dipped out, but then Clark, Holly, Coop and I walked around during the day. It was so beautiful out. 65 and sunny. I got a name necklace on the street! It’s so cute. After walking around all day, Jenny met up with me and we walked around some more and then went back to my apartment and then we went out to dinner with Sari. We wanted to take Jenny to our favorite restaurant Il Giova, but they were all booked so we asked the people who worked there for a restaurant suggestion and they told us of this place called La Pentolla dell’oro. It was so delicious and authentic. We all just went home after dinner and I said bye to Jenny.

Today, we went the Florence vs. Milan soccer match. Lane, Sari, and I went down to the leather market this morning to get a Fiorentina TShirt to wear to the game. Meghan Keith met up with us and then we caught a bus to the stadium. I brought my big camera and the security guards were telling me that I couldn’t bring it in the stadium and that I had to leave it at some “belonging/coat check.” I told them no way and that I would rather just not go to the game because I wouldn’t risk losing the camera. I emailed Luca (one of the program directors, Milva’s husband), the day before asking if cameras were okay to bring in and he told me yes, so I told the people at the gate that I checked with my teacher before who told me it was okay to have my camera and that I even looked on the website and didn’t see anything about not bringing a camera in. They brought in this other security guy to look at my camera and he told me again that I wasn’t allowed to bring it in because it was too big and he told me again that I could check it in the lockers. I told him no. So then I called Luca and told him they weren’t letting me in, and he said to wait for him to get there and I was planning on just putting it in his car. While waiting for Luca, the security guy came back up to me and told me that he would let it slide and let me in. So lucky. So we went into the game, got our seats and watched the game. It was great! We had awesome seats and the game was so fun. The fans were heated and super into it. It was really cool. The score was 2 to 2. It was a tie. After the game, we didn’t know where to catch the bus, so we walked all the way back home, a 30 minute walk. It was really nice out today though, so it wasn’t too bad.

Had a great weekend, and tomorrow is just another Monday!

Jenny, Me, and Steph

Jenny, Me, and Steph

Me, Sari, and Lane at Kikuya

Me, Sari, and Lane at Kikuya

Lowell and I at Babylon

Lowell and I at Babylon

Clark and Coop modeling some bags

Clark and Coop modeling some bags

My new name necklace

My new name necklace

Holly and Dolly modeling their necklaces

Holly and Dolly modeling their necklaces

Clark got a name bracelet

Clark got a name bracelet

Jenny and I at Piazza Repubblica

Jenny and I at Piazza Repubblica

At the Fiorentia vs. Milan game!

At the Fiorentia vs. Milan game!

Lane and I at the game

Lane and I at the game

Steph Miller and I

Steph Miller and I

Meghan, Sari, me, and Lane

Meghan, Sari, me, and Lane

The stadium

The stadium

Lots of purple

Lots of purple

DSC_0567

MIlan scored

MIlan scored

Things were getting heated on the field

Things were getting heated on the field

Angry Italians

Angry Italians

 

The final score

The final score

 

End of the game. Look at the mountains in the back!

End of the game. Look at the mountains in the back!

 

View of the duomo on the walk back from the stadium

View of the duomo on the walk back from the stadium

Leave a Reply

