Un-luck of the Irish

Friday morning, Steph and I woke up and waited for Jenny to arrive to the hotel. We looked in my Europe guide book for things to do, places to see, and where to eat. We went downstairs at around 11:00 to scout out a restaurant to have breakfast at. At around 11:45, Jenny got to the Blooms Hotel. She dropped her stuff off, then we went to eat breakfast at Elephant and Castle, this cafe around the corner from our hotel. I got an omelette, the first eggs I’ve eaten abroad. After eating, we started our day in Dublin. Our first stop was Trinity College.

Trinity college had such a pretty campus. Old buildings, and green lawns. We just did a quick walk around the campus then headed over to the Dublin Castle. The weather here is so weird. One second it’s raining, then it’s sunny, then it’s raining again. It’s also way colder here than in Florence. I had to bring my winter coat. We went to the castle, but it was such a bummer because the castle isn’t open to the public until June. We just walked around the outside and took some pictures in a pretty courtyard/garden. Our next stop was the Guinness factory, but we ended up passing St. Patrick’s Cathedral on the way. We went into the courtyard here also but didn’t go inside because you had to pay and it didn’t seem worth it.

So then we got to the Guinness storehouse. It isn’t technically the factory anymore, it used to be, but now it’s an enormous museum. It’s really cool. You give yourself a self-guided tour. You also get to taste beers along the way and you get a pint of beer when you show your ticket. We did the “self poured” beer. We were taught how to pour the beer from a tap and we got a certificate at the end hahaha. The beer was super strong and bitter. We went into an area to drink our beer where they were playing live Irish music which was cool. Then we went upstairs to the “gravity bar” and got to see a panoramic view of Dublin. I ran into Alana Patterson, my friend from middle school. Such a small world!

After the Guinness storehouse, we were so hungry so we went to this crepe place. On the way to get crepes, I ran into another friend of mine, Jake Moss, who I went to camp with. I haven’t seen him in years, so it was great seeing him! Again, such a small world. The streets were flooded with people in green and St. Patty’s day gear. It was nuts!

After the crepe, we went back to the hotel, chilled for a little, and then met up with the rest of our AEPhi friends that were in Dublin to go out to dinner. We went to this restaurant called TP Smith’s, I got traditional fish and chips, but I don’t think I reacted well to it. After dinner, Steph, Jenny and I walked around Dublin and into the pubs. We bought a souvenir green St. Patty’s day scarf and green headbands. We had to get in the spirit like everyone else!

We went to some random pub and then to the Temple Bar. It was SO packed. Like you couldn’t move, it was actually kind miserable haha but it was definitely quite the experience. We ended up just going back to the hotel after a couple hours.

Saturday morning, we had to wake up super early. We went on a Cliffs of Moher tour to the Irish countryside. The tour left at 6:50 in the morning. It was a little over a 3 hour drive. I woke up and my stomach was hurting, I felt horrible. Eventually we got to the cliffs and I started to feel really bad. Dad, you would gave hated the cliffs. The cliffs were so beautiful though. We tools tons of pictures. I had to sit down because I felt so bad, just super nauseous. I don’t think the high cliffs were helping me feel any better. We had to run back to the bus because it was leaving at 1:00. Then our next stop was in this little town to grab lunch. I had absolutely no appetite and was miserable. I got some sparkling water and a piece of brown bread. Then we drove along the coast of Ireland and stopped at a spot where there was a field of limestone rocks. I had never seen anything like it. I really felt the need to throw up at this point, and thankfully, I did. It had to happen. Still, I wasn’t feeling that well. Then we made two more stops, a very old church and a small castle. It was such a bummer than I wasn’t feeling well because I couldn’t take advantage of everything to the fullest extent. At the castle, I just got out of the bus, took a photo, and then had to go back on the bus. We drove back to Dublin and got back at around 7:30.

Steph and Jenny went out to dinner, and then they went out but I just had lay down and go to sleep. It stinks that I couldn’t go celebrate St. Patrick’s day in Dublin, but at least I got to see everything!

Overall, Ireland is so beautiful. The people were soooo nice and loved Americans! I couldn’t believe it. Now I’m at the airport and I’m feeling a lot better today. Still not 100%. I’m loving the free wifi at the airport. Again, we have a long layover, so we are flying to Frankfurt right how and then have to hang out until our connecting flight to Florence. We have midterms this week…not looking forward to it. Then it’s spring break, which will be amazing! I’m going to Vienna, Budapest, Venice and Milan with my friend Brooke who I stayed with in Barcelona. I can’t wait!

At the restaurant Elephant and Castle. Love the elefantes

At the restaurant Elephant and Castle. Love the elefantes!

In the Temple Bar area. Where it's at!

In the Temple Bar area. Where it’s at!

Dublin

Dublin

Walking into the Trinity College campus

Walking into the Trinity College campus

DSC_1060

Jenny, me, and Steph

Jenny, me, and Steph

Jenny and I in the Trinity College courtyard

Jenny and I in the Trinity College courtyard

DSC_1072

Getting into the holiday spirit

Getting into the holiday spirit

DSC_1079

Dublin Castle

Dublin Castle

DSC_1093

Jenny and I hiding from the rain under the umbrella

Jenny and I hiding from the rain under the umbrella

DSC_1099

Jenny, Steph, and I made the "phi" sign for AEPhi

Jenny, Steph, and I made the “phi” sign for AEPhi

Then we got these Australian girls to do the same thing haha

Then we got these Australian girls to do the same thing haha

Christ Church Cathedral

Christ Church Cathedral

Outside of St. Patrick's Church

Outside of St. Patrick’s Cathedral

St. Patrick's Cathedral

St. Patrick’s Cathedral

DSC_1135

Love the selfies

Love the selfies

DSC_1141

We found a parking lot with tons of graffiti

We found a parking lot with tons of graffiti

DSC_1163

DSC_1168

DSC_1171

Young, wild, and free

Young, wild, and free

DSC_1179

Guinness Storehouse

Guinness Storehouse

Band playing outside of Guinness

Band playing outside of Guinness

Inside the Guinness storehouse

Inside the Guinness storehouse

Throwing some barley in the air. This is the first ingredient to make Guinness

Throwing some barley in the air. This is the first ingredient to make Guinness

DSC_1216

In front of the green fountain

In front of the green fountain

DSC_1231

Barrels

Barrels

Michelle and Barack drinking some Guinness

Michelle and Barack drinking some Guinness

This is what the Guinness Storehouse looked like

This is what the Guinness Storehouse looked like

Learned how to pour Guinness from the tap

Learned how to pour Guinness from the tap

DSC_1273

We got certificates for learning how to pour the beer...jokes.

We got certificates for learning how to pour the beer…jokes.

Up to the Gravity Bar

Up to the Gravity Bar

View of Dublin

View of Dublin

Ran into Alana Paterson

Ran into Alana Paterson

Streets of Dublin

Streets of Dublin

Jake Moss! My friend from Tamakwa

Jake Moss! My friend from Tamakwa

Me, Amy, and Steph

Me, Amy, and Steph

All the AEPhi's in Dublin went out to dinner together at TP Smith's

All the AEPhi’s in Dublin went out to dinner together at TP Smith’s

The phisters in Dublin!

The phisters in Dublin!

The Temple Bar was packed!

The Temple Bar was packed!

I ran into one of my good friends from Tamakwa, Leah Stahl at Buskers in Dublin!

I ran into one of my good friends from Tamakwa, Leah Stahl at Buskers in Dublin!

Arrival at the Cliffs of Moher

Arrival at the Cliffs of Moher

Here they are...the Cliffs of Moher

Here they are…the Cliffs of Moher

DSC_1338

DSC_1343

Castle

Castle

Group shot

Group shot

DSC_1355

DSC_1365

DSC_1372

DSC_1377

This is scary...

This is scary…

Walking up to the cliffs

Walking up to the cliffs

So pretty!

So pretty!

DSC_1393

DSC_1410

Steph and I

Steph and I

Limestone field

Limestone field

DSC_1426

DSC_1435

A church on the countryside

A church on the countryside

DSC_1445

DSC_1448

DSC_1460

DSC_1463

DSC_1464

Not feelin' so hot

Not feelin’ so hot

Dublin at night

Dublin at night

2 thoughts on “Un-luck of the Irish

  1. I hope you are feeling better. I love reading your blog, it’s like traveling along with you. Stay well! Love you

Leave a Reply

