Hola from Barcelona!

So Thursday morning I went to catch a bus to the Pisa airport from the Florence train station. There were tons of people on our shuttle. I say with Katie on the bus, it was about an hour long drive. This weekend was the Abroadfest concert in Barcelona, so tons of people flew in from everywhere to go. So we get to the airport, go through security, and got on the plane. Pretty seamless.

We flew on Vueling airline, a Spanish airline. When we got on the plane, the flight attendants spoke Spanish which was a really nice change! I sat in the third row and no one was in the middle seat, and a boy from University of Michigan was in the aisle seat. He was in Europe for his spring break visiting all his friends that are abroad. We obviously played the name game with Michigan and Indiana.

When we landed in Barcelona, Stephanie Miller and I got on the Aero Bus and got off at Plaza Catalunya to go to her hostel because my friend Brooke who I am staying with in Barcelona was still in class. We dropped off Stephanie’s stuff and then Brooke came to meet us there. The 3 of us took the metro to Brooke’s apartment, I dropped my stuff off, and then we went to a club called Sovato to pick up our hard tickets for Abroadfest. We were standing in line for about 5 minutes and then I ran into my friend Tim Robustelli (Robo), a good friend from New Canaan. So funny. We picked up our tickets, stopped at a grocery store to make dinner, then went to Brooke’s apartment to eat.

Stephanie then left to meet her roommates at the hostel and we got ready to go out. Lorelei and Natalie (Brooke’s friends) came over to meet up with me, Brooke, and Christine (Brooke’s roommate). We then went to Opium which was really fun. Soooooo many people that I knew we’re there. Giant abroad reunion.

On Friday morning, we got up, then went to get lunch at Bo de B. This absolutely amazing sandwich place. It was so fresh and so delicious. Chicken sandwich with vegetables and feta. I ran into Lexi Sorbara at Bo de B which was so great. Her friend Laura Kelly from school is visiting her this weekend.

After we got some food, Brooke, Christine, and I went on a little walking tour of Barca. We saw the Barcelona Cathedral, went to Las Ramblas, and went inside La Boqueria, the most amazing food market I’ve ever seen. The fruit here was SO fresh. The biggest and freshest strawberries ever. We each got a fresh squeezed juice for one euro. I got pineapple mango. Yum.

Then after Las Ramblas, we went to Parc de la Ciutadella which had this huge beautiful fountain and a giant elephant sculpture which I obviously loved (I love elephants). Barcelona is so beautiful. It’s a completely modern city, has a New York feel, but it’s on the water and has palm trees. So maybe it’s like Venice, California? It’s so amazing. Palm trees everywhere and warm weather.

After the park, Christine went back home and Brooke and I continued on and went to La Sagrada Familia, the church that Gaudi built (famous Spanish architect). The church was absolutely unbelievable. It is relatively new (started being built in the 1900’s) so it was very modern. Gaudi died before the church was complete, so it’s still a work in progress. Gaudi was inspired by nature when building this church. The posts inside are supposed to represent trees, and there are big floral like cut outs on the ceiling which are supposed to make it feel like a tree canopy with the trees. The back side of the church’s facade was all of Gaudi’s creation. Fantastic detailed sculptures depicting the birth of Jesus Christ. Again, lots of nature references. Oh and we ran into Sara Smoler and Sam Schnieder at the church who are both abroad in Florence with me.

We went back home after La Sagrada Familia and for ready for dinner. We went to Cerveceria Catalana with Christine and Lorelei. It was a tapas bar with great food. We tried a bunch of tapas, all were delicious. After dinner, we went to Le Cyrano and met up with Lexi and her friends. We were so tired from the day that we just went home after Le Cyrano after a while.

Oh! So side note. I speak Spanish. In Italy, I keep speaking Spanish to people because I don’t know Italian, and now that I’m here, I’m really thrown off. I’ve been saying Italian words instead of Spanish, and it’s the weirdest thing. Spanish and Italian are so similar that I’m seriously having a hard time differentiating the two. Everyone is pretty shocked at how well I can communicate here. While it’s hard to separate the two languages, I’m still able to speak Spanish and communicate well.

I'm off to Barcelona!

I’m off to Barcelona!

Flew over the Italian alps

Flew over the Italian alps

I wish we had an Apple store in Florence!

I wish we had an Apple store in Florence!

Brooke and I before Abroadfest

Brooke and I before Abroadfest

Arc de Triomf

Arc de Triomf

DSC_0691

Barcelona Cathedral

Barcelona Cathedral

Bó de B. Greatest and freshest sandwich in Barcelona

Bó de B. Greatest and freshest sandwich in Barcelona. Good thing we got here before they opened, because people were waiting in line for hours!

Ingredients of a Bo de B sandwich

Ingredients of a Bo de B sandwich

La Boqueria

La Boqueria. The fresh food market

The fruit at la boqueria

The fruit at la boqueria

This fruit is real!

This fruit is real!

The candy is even pretty

The candy is even pretty

These strawberries!!!! What is the deal!?!?!? They are perfect!

These strawberries!!!! What is the deal!?!?!? They are perfect!

Fresh squeezed juice

Fresh squeezed juice

I got pineapple mango juice...delish!

I got pineapple mango juice…delish!

Chili peppers. Que picante!

Chili peppers. Muy picante!

Brooke and I on La Rambla

Brooke and I on La Rambla

DSC_0787

Fountain at Parc de la Ciutadella

Fountain at Parc de la Ciutadella

I love me some elephants!

I love me some elephants!

Selfies on the fountain

Selfies on the fountain

DSC_0824

La Sagrada Familia by Gaudi

La Sagrada Familia by Gaudi

Me and Brooke at La Sagrada Familia

Me and Brooke at La Sagrada Familia

DSC_0836

The inside of the church

The inside of the church

The solo shots are a must

The solo shots are a must

Look at this ceiling!!!

Look at this ceiling!!!

DSC_0857

DSC_0858

DSC_0864

DSC_0878

The backside of the church

The backside of the church

The darker parts of the stone are due to pollution

The darker parts of the stone are due to pollution

DSC_0892

Saw Sara Smoler and Sam Schneider at La Sagrada Familia!

Saw Sara Smoler and Sam Schneider at La Sagrada Familia!

So much detail

So much detail

DSC_0924

 

I thought this was hilarious...there are camouflaged Bose speakers inside the church!

I thought this was hilarious…there are camouflaged Bose speakers inside the church!

DSC_0938

Me, Christine (Brooke's roommate), and Brooke waiting for the metro

Me, Christine (Brooke’s roommate), and Brooke waiting for the metro

Dinner at Cervecería Catalana

Dinner at Cervecería Catalana

Met up with Lexi at Le Cyrano

Met up with Lexi at Le Cyrano

Leave a Reply

