Art and Food

So sorry for the delayed post. This week has been pretty laid back, but kind of crazy at the same time. I haven’t really had a dull moment, but nothing momentous has happened either hahaha.

So on Tuesday, in my art history class, we visited the Capelle Medicee (the Medici Chapel). The chapel is attached to the San Lorenzo church that we visited for our first field trip when we saw the Laurentian Library. The chapel was built to celebrate the Medici family and dukes of Tuscany.

In the chapel, we saw the Sagrestia Nuova (“New Sacristy”) which was designed by Michelangelo, and the Capella dei Principi (“Chapel of the Princes”). Within seconds, I was able to recognize that the sacristy was designed by Michelangelo. It looked SO similar to the entryway of the Laurentian Library reading room. It was beautiful. White marble and gray stone filled the entire room.

The Chapel of Princes was pretty amazing. At Palazzo Pitti, we saw that blue table that was made using a technique where the artist hand carves and crafts the stone table. Well this technique was used to cover the entire Chapel of Princes. Semi-precious stones were precisely carved and placed into the floors and walls of this chapel. It took hundreds of years to build, but it was worth it. Absolutely amazing.

After art class, I had my food class. We had a quiz and then we broke into groups to cook! Our three courses that we made were, insalate di pasta (pasta salad), splendini di salsiccia e lonza (sausage, pork, pancetta kebabs), and biscotti di prato (biscotti). I helped make the pasta salad. The pasta salad was bomb, the kebab was bomb,and the biscotti was bomb. Overall great meal.

After class I came home, caught up with the roomies, then struggled to figure out what to wear this weekend in Barcelona. So I’m going to Barcelona this weekend which should be so much fun. EVERYONE is going to be there. There is this concert on Thursday night called Abroadfest that everyone came in for. This is going to be a serious IU reunion and I am so excited about it.

I am staying with my friend Brooke who I am traveling with for spring break. She is my friend that was in Rome visiting Sklare at the same time I was. I’m super excited about Barcelona, but I”m just nervous about the pickpocketing situation. Barcelona is the pick pocketing capital of the world. I’m nervous, but I just have to be smart and I should be fine! Can’t wait for this weekend!

The Sagrestia Nuova at Capelle Medicee

The Sagrestia Nuova at Capelle Medicee

This totally looks like the entryway of the Laurentian  Library. You can tell it's Michelangelo

This totally looks like the entryway of the Laurentian Library. You can tell it’s Michelangelo

IMG_3035

Capella dei Principi

Capella dei Principi

Ceiling of the Capella dei Principi

Ceiling of the Capella dei Principi

My food class meal: insalate di pasta (pasta salad), splendini di salsiccia e lonza (sausage, pork, pancetta kebabs), and biscotti di prato (biscotti)

My food class meal: insalate di pasta (pasta salad), splendini di salsiccia e lonza (sausage, pork, pancetta kebabs), and biscotti di prato (biscotti)

2 thoughts on “Art and Food

  1. I am excited for you to go to Barcelona. The Gaudi architecture is amazing, you can get on the red and blue buses for a one day fee. Park Guell is on the route, all designed by Gaudi, overlooks the whole city. You will probably hang out down by the Ramblas, on the water. Tons of kids, street performers etc. Have fun. Love, Danny

Leave a Reply

