Just Your Typical Saturday In Florence

Woke up this morning and put my sock bun in my hair. Lane, Sari, and I met up at 12:00 to go shopping at the indoor market. It is the best place ever. All the produce and meat and cheese is so fresh and often times cheaper than the grocery store. Got some broccoli, oranges, nectarines, tomatoes, and some beautiful fresh tuna. Lane, Sari, and I all bought tuna and decided that we were going to make it for dinner. Before we even started shopping for food, we sat down and ate at this little sandwich stand inside the market. They serve pasta and sandwiches. You can get turkey, roast beef, boiled beef (kind of like brisket), or tripe sandwiches. We got boiled beef. It was delicious. Super authentic Italian food from super authentic Italian guys. Moto buono!

We made friends with Massimo, the produce guy, and the fish guys were awesome. There was another fish stand where they were jamming out to U2 and just passing out free cups of wine. Party in the market!

After the market we went back home and I had a little credit card drama. Everything is so complicated because there is no way to communicate with American companies since I have an Italian phone. I can only communicate via email and I hate it. I feel trapped!

I did some reading for homework and then went with Sari to the bookstore because she had to buy her books for class. We walked around our neighborhood a little (Sari and I are neighbors) and found an even closer grocery store, a humungous 1 euro store, and found a kebab place on her street…dangerous.

Then we just went back home to chill and Sari came over to mine and Lane’s apartment to make our tuna dinner. It was so good! After dinner, we obviously had to go get gelato. We went to Venchi (SO GOOD). I got chocolate, nougat, and chocolate hazelnut.

Sandwich from the market

Sandwich from the market

Getting our tuna in the market

Getting our tuna in the market

High roller in the euro store (those are 100 euro napkins)

High roller in the euro store (those are 100 euro napkins)

My delicious dinner!

My delicious dinner!

Arguably some of the very best gelato in Florence. Not even kidding.

Arguably some of the very best gelato in Florence. Not even kidding.

Leave a Reply

