Doing Florence

So this weekend, we stayed in Florence and decided it would be the perfect time to do classic touristy Florentine things like climb the duomo. Sari, Lane, and I met up and went to the duomo and voluntarily paid 8 euro to climb over 450 stairs.

The stairwells up to the duomo were super narrow and very windy, I kind of got dizzy on the way up. We made it about half way up and got to a landing where we were overlooking the entire inside of the duomo and had a super close up view of the duomo ceiling. We were actually kind of annoyed at this point, because we thought this is what we just paid 8 euro for and we didn’t even get a view of Florence…

But we were wrong!!! We kept walking along the landing of the duomo ceiling and realized there was more to go. Oh! I missed something very important. When we got to the landing of the duomo, I realized my huge Nikon camera (my baby) wasn’t working. If you know me at all, my camera and my photos are my life and for it not to work during this once in a lifetime experience honestly made me miserable. So we kept walking up and of course, I was still pissed about my camera, so I kept trying everything to make it work. I finally got it working!!! THANK GOD! We eventually made it up to the very top of the duomo and it was BEAUTIFUL.

You could see the entire city from the top. It was such a nice day and clear and Florence just looked so nice. The 8 euro and 500-ish steps up to the top were definitely worth the view and the photo opps.

After taking about 200 pictures (not even joking), we made our way back down, which was actually kind of scary because the steps are so steep. My food and wine teacher told me about an amazing view of the duomo from a cafe on the roof of a department store right next to Plazza Republica. So went up to the top to take pics of the duomo. Gorgeous!

Then we thought we would continue our day of photos and made it over to the Ponte Vecchio. We ran into Ben and Zorn there and took some photos by the river. Sari, Lane, and I crossed the river and passed this AMAZING handmade leather shoe store. Ugh. The shoes were so perfect, but sooo expensive. I still have to decide if I want to invest…

We went on a pretty good walk but then it got cold and started to get dark so we went back home. Oh yeah, and passed Missoni and went in and drooled over everything.

We all met up at the Alpha Phi’s apartment and pregamed there. We went to Lion’s Fountain then Babylon. Babylon was insane. There were go-go dancing cages and all these nuts-o Italians dressed up in costumes for absolutely no reason. This place was super super trendy. You could tell this was a place for young Italian hipsters. And obviously we took “due” pics all night. If you didn’t read my earlier post about “due,” then I’ll explain.

We didn’t know how to say “peace” in Italian so we just decided to say “due” instead since due means two in Italian and when you make a peace sign, you hold up two fingers, so naturally “due” became the word peace for us and we say it all the time and pose with two fingers.

We decided to make our way over to Yab, but when Sari, Lane, and I found out cover was 10 euro, we opted out. We thought our money would be better spent on a Gyro from a Kebab place (of course). Kebab places are everrryyywhere in Florence.

We got Gyros (Sari got a Gyro and Hot Dog, she just couldn’t resist) and then left to walk home. As we were walking home we passed this bar in Plazza Republica where it was only chic Italians. We went in and just started talking to people. We met this guy named Yacobo (Jacob) and he was telling us all about where the Italians go and on what nights of the week and what time. He told us that he was waiting for his friend (Andre) who was smoking a cigarette in the corner. He asked us if we knew what Ferragamo was and of course we said DUH. He told us that that was Ferragamo’s granddaughters very good friend. We were obviously talking to a pretty elite Italian crowd. Their status was definitely confirmed when Yacobo blatantly told me that he was extremely wealthy and was fortunate that his parents would pay for things for him and that he just graduated from NYU. He said that his mom is a doctor and his dad is a lawyer. Ohhhh Yacobo.

Sari was infatuated with Yacobo and Andre’s friend, Lorenzo, who’s jacket was stolen. After about 30 minutes with Yacobo, Andre, and Lorenzo, we walked back home. Don’t worry, Lorenzo was texting Sari in Italian for the next hour and she had no idea what he was saying.

Stairs up to the duomo

Stairs up to the duomo

Views out of the little windows on the way up to the top of the duomo

Views out of the little windows on the way up to the top of the duomo

View from the top of the duomo

View from the top of the duomo

That green building is the indoor food market. I live on the street directly on the right side of it.

That green building is the indoor food market. I live on the street directly on the right side of it.

Lane, me, and Sari

Lane, me, and Sari

Pillars on the top of the duomo

Pillars on the top of the duomo

DSC_0611

Ceiling of the duomo

Ceiling of the duomo

Walking back down

Walking back down

Plazza Republica

Plazza Republica

View of the duomo from the roof of the department store

View of the duomo from the roof of the department store

We stopped at I Fratellini so Sari could get a sandwich

We stopped at I Fratellini so Sari could get a sandwich

Sari loving her sandwich

Sari loving her sandwich

The ponte vecchio

The ponte vecchio

Zorn, Lane, me, and Sari

Zorn, Lane, me, and Sari

Holding up "due!"

Holding up “due!”

Katie and me

Katie and me

Leave a Reply

